Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

Today is day two of being at home. Paul has taken up residency on the air mattress and brings me my meds around the clock. The last two nights I was awake when he brought them to me. Funny how the body knows when it is time for pain killers. Pain killers, antibiotics, muscle relaxers, vitamins. In one sitting, I will take up to 9 pills. But they work and I’m not complaining.

The home health care nurse paid us a visit this morning to change the dressings and the bandages around the drainage tubes. I only have two tubes and they look great. This is good news for me because the color is getting lighter and the output is less so I may be able to ditch the drains by my dr. appt. on Wed and/or Thurs. I have also taken myself off the hydro-codone because I have developed a rash. We thought this may happen but it was better than the alternative the first few days of surgery because I needed my rest.

I was more tired today than yesterday and took a few more naps. I am overwhelmed by the people who have offered to help. While the nurse was here, my neighbor Amy mowed our yard. It brought tears to my eyes as Amy and I haven’t talked much due to our schedules but were bunko buddies a few years ago. This was truly a gift for Paul today. Another friend stopped by with sweet breads, cookie dough for the freezer – to make later and other treats. Someone left a surprise in my door the day before surgery that included a People magazine, fun noise making button and treats. Thank you !

My parents have made great meals and this has allowed me to focus on getting better and rest. And now, it’s medication time again.

Comments on: "It’s Medication Time…" (1)

  1. Cindy Clark said:

    Dawn, I was thinking about you today and decided to check out your blog. WOW! I didn’t realize all that you had been going through and still walked tall with a smile on your face. You are a very strong woman. Reading through this brings tears to my eyes. I want you to know you are on my church prayer chain and in my thoughts and prayers for quick recovery. Take care-Love Cindy Clark

Leave a Reply

Double Whammied

Everything was going great until this whole breast cancer thing

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

